Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT
Sebastian Labitzke

Dr.-Ing. Sebastian Labitzke

sebastian labitzkeXwv7∂gmail com

Forschungsbereich DSN
Institut für Telematik / Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC)
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)

Geb. 20.50
Engesserstr. 2
D-76131 Karlsruhe

Personal Data

Having completed my diploma degree at the University of Karlsruhe (TH) in Computer Science I joined Prof. Hartenstein's research group Decentralized Systems and Network Services at the Institute of Telematics of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) as well as the department of Services, Development and Integration (DEI) of the Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC, Computing Center of the KIT). My major fields of study were telematics and information systems. During my study and diploma thesis I was interested in network simulation and its support as well as in federated and service-oriented integration of services. In July 2013, I finished my PhD and continued my work at Prof. Hartenstein's research group as a team leader/post-doc until March 2014.


My field of functions at the SCC was located within projects regarding the establishment and expansion of the KIT-wide Identity & Access Management (IAM) and also regarding the development of managed and integrated IT-services. These tasks have been fulfilled as part of the KIM-project, as well as the projects IT4Integration and bwIDM (click here for a project flyer) and were the area of responsibility of the SCC department DEIThe projects were geared towards aggregating heterogeneous systems in an integrative manner and towards providing its services to students and employees of the KIT and of other institutions of the state of Baden-Württemberg. For instance, I was engaged in the establishment of a SAML-based, central authentication service as well as a central delivery of user attributes on the basis of Shibboleth and its transition to operation. Here, the goal was to establish an Identity Provider for the KIT and extend this component to meet KIT-specific requirements, as well as to integrate also non web-based systems, such as HPC and Cloud infrastructures (see publications).


Besides the establishment and development of integrative software solutions for the KIT, I was interested in the research area of Online Social Networks (OSNs). Thereby, the goal was to develop innovative solutions that are suitable to make privacy risks visible to OSN-members. In order to empirically investigate the proliferation of personally identifiable information (PII) and third parties' possibilities to link published data, as well as to infer non-provided information of a single OSN user, we implemented a web-crawler. It has the ability to evaluate the possibilities to correlate data from miscellaneous OSNs in a compliant manner with respect to the German data protection acts (see Publications). Initially, the goal of this study was to assess the risk of the publicity of published PII. Furthermore, we designed and implemented measures that support users in performing accurate risk management in order to configure privacy settings in an adequate manner.


My dissertation titled "Avoiding Unintended Flows of Personally Identifiable Information - Enterprise Identity Management and Online Social Networks" has been published by the KIT Scientific Publishing in 2013.




Sebastian Labitzke


since 07/2008

PhD student at the Institute of Telematics, Decentralized Systems and Network Services Research Group, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
        Student assistant at the Institute of Telematics, Decentralized Systems and Network Services Research GroupUniversity of Karlsruhe (TH)
10/2002-05/2008   Study of computer science at  University of Karlsruhe (TH)

Book Chapter

Journal Articles

Refereed Conference Contributions


Technical Reports


Selected Talks

Courses - Winter Term 2013/2014
title type semester place
Vorlesung (V) WS 13/14
Vorlesung (V) WS 13/14
internship WS 13/14

Courses - Summer Term 2013
title type semester place
Seminar SS 2013
Lecture SS 2013

Courses - Winter Term 2012/2013
title type semester place
Lecture WS 12/13
Tutorial WS 12/13

Courses - Summer Term 2012
title type semester place
Practical course SS 2012
Seminar SS 2012
Lecture SS 2012

Courses - Winter Term 2011/2012
title type semester place
lecture SR 217, Building 20.21
exercise SR 217, Building 20.21
seminar SR 367, Building 20.20

Courses - Summer Term 2011
title type semester place
seminar Summer term 2011 Room 367, building 20.20
seminar Summer term 2011 Engesserstr. 2 (E2, building 20.50), 1st level
Lecture Summer term 2011

Courses - Winter Term 2010/2011
title type semester place
lecture SR 217, SCC (Building 20.21)
tutorial SR 217, SCC (Building 20.21)
seminar SR 367, Building 20.20

Courses - Summer Term 2010
title type semester place
Lecture SR 217, RZ (Building 20.21)

Courses - Winter Term 2009/2010
title type semester place
seminar SR 367, RZ (Building 20.21)

Courses - Summer Term 2009
title type semester place
seminar SR 367, Building 20.20

Current Projects
Title Contact
Hannes Hartenstein, Martin Nußbaumer, Jens Köhler, Sebastian Labitzke
Hannes Hartenstein, Martin Nußbaumer, Holger Kühner, Sebastian Labitzke

Completed Projects
Title Contact
Hannes Hartenstein, Thorsten Höllrigl, Sebastian Labitzke

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT
Sebastian Labitzke

Dr.-Ing. Sebastian Labitzke

Teamleiter
sebastian labitzkeDaq8∂gmail com
Forschungsbereich DSN
Institut für Telematik / Steinbuch Centre for Computing (SCC)
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)

Geb. 20.50
Engesserstr. 2
D-76131 Karlsruhe

Zur Person

Nach Beendigung meines Studiums der Informatik an der Universität Karlsruhe (TH) habe ich von Juli 2008 bis März 2014 in der Forschungsgruppe Dezentrale Systeme und Netzdienste (DSN) von Prof. Hartenstein am Institut für Telematik des Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) und in der Abteilung Dienste-Entwicklung und Integration (DEI) des Steinbuch Center for Computing (SCC, Rechenzentrum des KIT) gearbeitet. Meine Studienschwerpunkte lagen in den Bereichen Telematik und Informationssysteme. Während meiner Studien- und Diplomarbeit interessierte ich mich insbesondere für Netzsimulationen und deren Unterstützung sowie für den Bereich der föderativen und serviceorientierten Dienstanbindung. Im Juli 2013 habe ich meine Promotion (Dr.-Ing.) abgeschlossen und war anschließend als Teamleiter/Post-Doc in der Forschungsgruppe von Prof. Hartenstein tätig.

 

Meine Aufgabenbereiche im SCC lagen in Projekten zum Aufbau und Ausbau des KIT- und Landes-weiten Identitäts- und Zugriffsmanagements (engl. Identity & Access Management (IAM)) und der Entwicklung integrativer Lösungen für IT-Dienste. Diese Aufgaben waren insbesondere Teil der Projekte "Karlsruhe Integrated InformationManagement" (KIM) sowie IT4Integration und bwIDM (Projekt-Broschüre). Das Ziel dabei war es, bestehende heterogene Systeme integrativ zusammenzufassen und Mitarbeitern und Studierenden am KIT und im Land Baden-Württemberg anzubieten. Dabei engagierte ich mich beispielsweise beim Aufbau eines zentralen, SAML-basierten Authentifikationsdienstes sowie einer zentralen Attributlieferung auf Basis von Shibboleth für das KIT und der Überführung dieses Dienstes in den Betrieb. Das Ziel war hierbei einen Identity Provider für das KIT aufzusetzen und um notwendige Anpassungen zu erweitern, um KIT-spezifische Anforderungen zu erfüllen und nicht Web-basierte sogenannte Landesdienstes in eine SAML-Föderation zu integrieren (siehe Publikationen).

 

Neben dem Aufbau und der Entwicklung von integrativen Lösungen für das KIT interessierte ich mich in meiner Zeit am KIT für IT-Sicherheitsmanagement, Service-orientierte Architekturen, Prozessintegration und insbesondere für Big Data Analytics im Bereich sozialer Netzwerke (engl. Online Social Networks, OSNs). Das Ziel bei der OSN-Forschung war es, innovative Lösungen zu implementieren, die Nutzern die Gefahren in Bezug auf ihre Privatsphäre verdeutlichen. Um die Ausbreitung personenbezogener Daten sowie die Aggregationsmöglichkeiten der Daten einer Person, die verteilt durch verschiedene Online-Dienste der Weltöffentlichkeit zur Verfügung gestellt werden, empirisch zu untersuchen, wurden Web-Crawler implementiert. Mit deren Hilfe wurden die Korrelationsmöglichkeiten publizierter sowie die Möglichkeiten zur Prädiktion nicht-angegebener personenbezogener Daten aus unterschiedlichen sozialen Netzwerken untersucht (siehe Publikationen). Ziel war es zunächst eine Bewertung des Gefahrenpotentials der Öffentlichkeit bestimmter Attribute zu ermitteln und im Nachgang Maßnahmen zu implementieren, die Nutzern helfen ein akkurates Risiko-Management - als Basis für adäquates Nutzen von Privatsphäre-Einstellungen in OSNs - durchzuführen.

 

Meine Dissertation mit dem Titel "Avoiding Unintended Flows of Personally Identifiable Information - Enterprise Identity Management and Online Social Networks" erschien 2013 im Verlag KIT Scientific Publishing.

 

FB-KIT

 

Sebastian Labitzke


Lebenslauf

Dissertationen


Buchkapitel


Journal Artikel


Konferenzbeiträge


Poster


Technische Berichte


Verschiedenes


Ausgewählte Vorträge und Panel Diskussionen


Lehrveranstaltungen im Wintersemester 2013/14
Titel Typ Semester Ort
Vorlesung (V) WS 13/14
Vorlesung (V) WS 13/14
Praktikum WS 13/14


Lehrveranstaltungen im Sommersemester 2013
Titel Typ Semester Ort
Seminar (S) SS 2013
Vorlesung (V) SS 2013


Lehrveranstaltungen im Wintersemester 2012/13
Titel Typ Semester Ort
Vorlesung WS 12/13
Übung WS 12/13


Lehrveranstaltungen im Sommersemester 2012
Titel Typ Semester Ort
Praktikum SS 2012
Seminar SS 2012
Vorlesung SS 2012


Lehrveranstaltungen im Wintersemester 2011/12
Titel Typ Semester Ort
Vorlesung SR 217, Gebäude 20.21
Übung SR 217, Gebäude 20.21
Seminar SR 367, Gebäude 20.20


Lehrveranstaltungen im Sommersemester 2011
Titel Typ Semester Ort
Seminar Sommersemester 2011 Raum 367, Geb 20.20
Seminar Sommersemester 2011 1. Stock in der Engesserstr. 2 (E2, Geb. 20.50)
Vorlesung Sommersemester 2011


Lehrveranstaltungen im Wintersemester 2010/11
Titel Typ Semester Ort
Vorlesung SR 217, SCC (Geb 20.21)
Übung SR 217, SCC (Geb 20.21)
Seminar SR 367, Gebäude 20.20


Lehrveranstaltungen im Sommersemester 2010
Titel Typ Semester Ort
Vorlesung SR 217, RZ (Geb. 20.21)


Lehrveranstaltungen im Wintersemester 2009/10
Titel Typ Semester Ort
Seminar SR 367, RZ (Geb 20.21)


Lehrveranstaltungen Sommersemester 2009
Titel Typ Semester Ort
Seminar SR 367, Geb. 20.20


Aktuelle Projekte
Titel Ansprechpartner
Hannes Hartenstein, Martin Nußbaumer, Jens Köhler, Sebastian Labitzke
Hannes Hartenstein, Martin Nußbaumer, Holger Kühner, Sebastian Labitzke


Abgeschlossene Projekte
Titel Ansprechpartner
Hannes Hartenstein, Thorsten Höllrigl, Sebastian Labitzke