Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

STDMA for NS-3

STDMA for NS-3
Contact:Tristan Gaugel, Jens Mittag, Stylianos Papanastasiou links:
Project Group:DSN, Chalmers University of Technology - Signals and Systems (CSS)

Overview


STDMA for NS-3 is an implementation of the Self-Organized Time Division Multiple Access (STDMA)-protocol for the open source network simulator NS-3. Traditionally, a CSMA/CA based approach is used in 802.11 networks where a station first listens to the channel whether a transmission is ongoing before transmitting themselves. In case the channel is sensed as busy a random timeout is waited before a new transmission attempt is performed. STDMA on the other hand employs a reservation scheme where nodes communicate their next transmissions, resulting in less random elements. The coordination which node is allowed to transmit at which point of time is, contrary to traditional TDMA approaches, not done by a central station, but in a decentralized fashion by all participating nodes.

For a detailed description of STDMA we refer to the paper "In-depth Analysis and Evaluation of Self-Organizing TDMA" (see publication list) where besides the protocol description a transmitter-based comparison to CSMA is presented.

The STDMA code can be easily integrated and configured as a MAC protocol in NS-3 and enables the simulation of (already existing) beacon-based VANET applications. The code itself, a documentation of available parameterization can be found on GitHub.

Publications related to NS-3-STDMA

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

STDMA für NS-3

STDMA für NS-3
Ansprechpartner:Tristan Gaugel, Jens Mittag, Stylianos Papanastasiou Links:
Projektgruppe:DSN, Chalmers University of Technology - Signals and Systems (CSS), Nottingham Trent University

Überblick


Hierbei handelt es sich um eine Implementierung des Self-Organized Time Division Multiple Access (STDMA)-Protokolls für den Netzwerksimulator NS-3. In 802.11-Netzwerken wird traditionell ein CSMA/CA Verfahren benutzt, welches bei einem Sendewunsch einer Station auf den Kanal hört um zu erkennen ob dieser momentan benutzt wird. Ist er frei so wird sofort gesendet, ist er belegt so wird eine zufällige Zeit gewartet und es erneut versucht. Im Gegensatz hierzu ist STDMA ein Verfahren welches anstelle von zufälligen Zugriffen auf ein Reservierungsverfahren zur Koordination aller Teilnehmer setzt. Die Aushandlung welcher Teilnehmer wann senden darf wird nicht wie bei traditionellen TDMA-Verfahren von einer zentralen Station erledigt sondern dezentral von den teilnehmenden Stationen vorgenommen.

Für eine ausführliche Beschreibung des STDMA-Verfahrens verweisen wir auf das Papier: In-depth Analysis and Evaluation of Self-Organizing TDMA (siehe Publikationsliste), indem neben der Protokollbeschreibung auch ein Senderbasierter Vergleich zu CSMA durchgeführt wird.

Der STDMA-Code lässt sich einfach als zusätzliches MAC-Verfahren in NS-3 einbinden und ermöglicht bereits bestehende, auf periodischem Nachrichtenaustausch basierte Anwendung, mit STDMA zu simulieren. Die hierbei möglichen Einstellungen, eine Beschreibung des STDMA Codes als auch der Code selbst befindet sich auf GitHub.

Publikationen im Zusammenhang mit NS-3-STDMA